Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Nov 1, 2006, 3:07 PM   #1

Hi,

First, some background..

I have an old Richo KR-5 Super II film SLR, and half a dozen lenzes for it. Most of these lenzes are K-mounts, though one of them is a KA (that is actually a doubler). I'd like to use these lenses with a dSLR so I don't have to make a completely new investment in glass.

I've been shooting Digital for the last 6 years with Olympus cameras (I currently have an Olympus E-10), so i've been using a dSLR for a while (the E-10 has about 5000 shots on it at this point).

My E-10 is starting to show it's age (mainly in picture quality), so I think it's time to replace it.

Since these K-mount dSLRs have come on to the market, I'm thinking it might be a decent investment to buy a new digital body to use along with my old K-mount lenses. This at least allows me to spend money on the body instead of money on new glass.

Anyway, I'm trying to figure out if my reasoning is sound, which brings on a couple of questions...

What, if any, experiences do you have using manual K-mount lenses on the new Digital bodies? Are there any issues I should be aware of?

Are the results that I'll get using the old manual lenses I already have roughly equivilent to the results I'd see using the manual lenses on an autofocus K-mount camera?

Thanks in advance,
Paul
pbender is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 1, 2006, 3:20 PM   #2