Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Nov 3, 2006, 11:37 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
royce10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,869
Default

Came across this lens on ebay. I have a k100d and want an automatic 50mm 1.7 lens.I'm familiar with smc lens (optically coated.) This lens is listed as VMC. Is that a different optical coating? Does it matter? Thoughts, experience, opinions on this lens would be appreciated.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Pentax-Screw-Mou...ayphotohosting
royce10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 4, 2006, 3:28 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
NonEntity1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Lake Placid Florida USA
Posts: 2,689
Default

You probably already know this, but just in case you are operating under the same misconception I had, you do know that "automatic" on this lens is not autofocus right? It is a screw mount, so you will need an adaptor to mount it and it will not offer anything that you could not get from an SMC M Pentax lens. I would recommend watching for an M or A 50mm 1.7 unless you are looking for autofocus, in which case I absolutely love my F50mm 1.7. VMC is just Vivitars multi coating formula, I don't know how much performance difference there is between VMC and SMC.

Tim
NonEntity1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2006, 3:47 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
danielchtong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,888
Default

royce10 wrote:
Quote:
Came across this lens on ebay. I have a k100d and want an automatic 50mm 1.7 lens.I'm familiar with smc lens (optically coated.) This lens is listed as VMC. Is that a different optical coating? Does it matter? Thoughts, experience, opinions on this lens would be appreciated.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Pentax-Screw-Mou...ayphotohosting

It is actually a Vivitar and the mount is Pentax screw mount. That is why it does not say nothing about lens brand


Camera Type:
--
Type of Focus:
--
Condition:
--
Lens Brand:
--
Lens Type:
--
To Fit Camera: Pentax


Daniel

danielchtong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2006, 4:33 PM   #4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hey doc,
this is about as far away from an ''auto'' lens as you can get, unless you use it stopped down in Av mode. it'll get real dim at f11.

roy
  Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2006, 5:53 PM   #5
TDN
Senior Member
 
TDN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,288
Default

I'd look away from this one.

If you look carefully and with patience, you can find a Pentax A for about the same price.
TDN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2006, 5:54 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
royce10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,869
Default

Ah good to know. I'm just learning all of the different types of pentax lens. M, A, F, Fa...etc. I think I will look for a 50mm smc fa either in a 1.4 or 1.7. Thanks.
royce10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2006, 6:38 PM   #7
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

royce,
right, get a 'fa' or a 'f'. both will do what you want..

roy
  Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2006, 7:26 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
HogRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 257
Default

I'm sure this is not a "bad" lens. I had a similar one with K mount once. If you want a really inexpensive lens, go ahead and offer 10 bucks as a "best offer". Nobody will buy that lens anywhere close to 50 Dollars.
HogRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2006, 10:43 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
ennacac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4,198
Default

Even though M42 (screw mount lenses) are automatic on a screw mount Pentax body such as a Spotmatic, the pin used for stopping down will not function properly on a DSLR, so they are totally manual.

That said, many of them are extremely sharp.

Tom
ennacac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2006, 2:32 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
royce10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,869
Default

Roy,

What's the difference between "fa" and "f"? Does the "fa" have something to do with the apeture ring?

robar wrote:
Quote:
royce,
right, get a 'fa' or a 'f'. both will do what you want..

roy
royce10 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 PM.