Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Nov 14, 2006, 12:29 AM   #1

class="post" I am completely new to digital SRL cameras. I was a point and shoot person. I have just purchased the following:

Pentax K100d
Pentax-DA 1:3.5-5.6 18-55mm AL lens
Pentax-DA 1:4-5.6 50-200mm ED lens

I am wanting to capture my girl at her gymnastic meet. I know I will need to use a fast shutter speed and open up my lens as far as it will go (f3.5 is the best I can get). What else will I need to do or setup on the camera to get a good picture? You can not use a flash and we will be around 20-30 yards away.

Thanks for the help

bill :?
billkater is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 14, 2006, 12:54 AM   #2

Welcome to the forum, billkater!

You'll need to do just what you write, use the largest aperture and fastest speed possible.

Shoot at ISO 800 or 1600. 1600 might get you noisy pictures, but it also might dojust finedepending on circumstances.

Shoot RAW and learn how to use a RAW converter, it's much more forgiving when it comes to white balance and exposure. If you use jpg, experiment with the white balance setting till you get it right.

Try to get close or use the 50-200 at 200 mm, fill the frame with action not with walls and ceilings.

Shoot a lot and have the guts to delete most pictures when you get home and see them on the screen. Don't keep so-so pictures, they only occupie space on your hard drive. Count on a high percentage of shake blur, in a near future you'll be hit by the dreaded LBA and start looking for faster lense like the 50 mm 1.4. For sure the shake reduction on the K100D will be a blessing for you.

Enjoy. Thats not a recommendation, thats an order!

Kjell
bilybianca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2006, 3:59 AM   #3

Bill