Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Dec 4, 2006, 7:02 AM   #1
dlw

Thanks to all who have so kindly helped me in deciding on the K10D, however, I'm still having a tussle deciding on which long range lens to get. I was sold on the Tamron 70-300 LD DI but see too many conflicting review about QI at 300mm. Can anyone provide some hands on experience regarding lenses in this range? My budget is maxed out at about $400.00, but being a barn photographer, I need to have at least 300mm available (and would really like 400mm). I could push the budget a bit for something noticably sharper, as I do most of my shots from roadside due to not being able to determine owners of barns to get permission. Thanks for any help possible!
dlw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 4, 2006, 7:43 AM   #2

dlw wrote:
Quote:
Thanks to all who have so kindly helped me in deciding on the K10D, however, I'm still having a tussle deciding on which long range lens to get. I was sold on the Tamron 70-300 LD DI but see too many conflicting review about QI at 300mm. Can anyone provide some hands on experience regarding lenses in this range? My budget is maxed out at about $400.00, but being a barn photographer, I need to have at least 300mm available (and would really like 400mm). I could push the budget a bit for something noticably sharper, as I do most of my shots from roadside due to not being able to determine owners of barns to get permission. Thanks for any help possible!
I always prefer prime lens and if you are ok with manual lens, go for some of the K or M 300mm F4 available at KEH at around $199- $399 depending on conditions. Their bargain rating is entirely useable .
If you are ok with ebay, there are from time to time 300mm manual prime available .
Judging from what you need, you may not be happy with any consumer zoom. Sometimes too good to be true : zoom 18mm-300mm .