Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Dec 11, 2006, 3:23 AM   #1

Hi there,
I see lot's of posts for the K10 and K100 series here - is this where the Pentax people are? Or are there any DS and DL users here?

I see the prices for the Pentax *ist DL2 dropping at christmas time, atm I could get a Pentax *ist DL2 with Kit Lens for 397,00 EUR plus shipping - which is VERY TEMPTING to say the least.

(I don't post that in the "what camera shall I buy section" on purpose - it's too specific for that general section I think.)

Are there any hints and tips you can give me regarding the DL series or more specific, the DL2?

Background
I need an all-around camera, am using a Oly770 UZ at the moment. Things I don't like: battery life time, focus is slow and not usable in low light, only ISO 400. Other than that I get great pictures from this camera. So am not a complete beginner - have used a Minolta Dynax 500si SLR before.

Beginner friendly
As I won't carry more than one camera with me I am looking after a good compromise between beginner/point&shoot and expert photography. I found this reviw here: