Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Dec 23, 2006, 12:09 PM   #1

Hoya and Pentax are merging but according to the article I read it is more of a question of Pentax being taken over by Hoya. The firm will be known as Hoya Pentax as of Oct. 07.

I'm no expert so I wonder what the implications will be for this new organization? Will it mean Pentax will be able to develop higher end D-SLR cameras and lens that will be more competitive with the two giants, Nikon and Canon?

Hoya supplies lens blanks to many other manufacturer's and I wonder if this expertise will lead to better, more and more varied optics from Hoya Pentax.

Pentax does fine, esp. with the new K10D, but I hope there will be an infusion of money in R & D.

I thought that Samsung would eventually absorb Pentax, so this is a surprise to me.

lesmore49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 23, 2006, 2:10 PM   #2

from what i've read it seems Hoya is not interested in pentax's camera digital imaging area. what they are mostly interested in is pentax's medical area. guess it could go either way.

roy
Old Dec 23, 2006, 2:32 PM   #3

Wow, that is a bombshell. I hope they don't drop the camera division all together. I had hoped that the Samsung/Pentax patnership would eventually lead to Pentax challenging the big boys. But if they just got bought out by Hoya, That might not happen.I don't know all the details, but it doesn't sound good for us pentaxians.
Spiritbro77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2006, 2:38 PM   #4

I guess this is as good time as any for my first post. I'm a long time lurker, but registered for quite a while.