Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jan 5, 2007, 5:12 PM   #1

HI all

Since I am very new to this dslr game, I really want to stick with mastering the various controls before I wander off into raw territory. Therefore, I was wondering what kind of settings those of you who are happy with your jpeg images are using? Of course I bought my cam before the firestorm over at dpreview on alleged jpeg low quality. I don't know how true any of that is, it somewhat reeks of pixel-peeping, but nonetheless, my pic's to date have been less than stunning, but I have been mostly shooting indoors or outside at twilight where I have to use Iso 1600 and low shutter speeds to make up for the lack of light. Haven't had a good chance to go out in sunlight and do anything interesting.

Any ideas on how to set up for best possible jpegs would be very much appreciated.

Also, any ideas if a 50 mm f1.7 would be decent for indoor basketball (we sit right on the sidelines, small gyms). My kit lens and the 50-200 are just too darn slow. Have to use iso 1600 and about 1/60 shutter speed, so either get dark photos or motion blur. Would I be better off getting a flash next, or the 50 mm?

Thanks

Peggy
pmanza is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 5, 2007, 6:00 PM   #2
TDN

Some people at dpreview would shoot their entire holiday in raw because they think - or should i say "read" - the jpegs on Pentax were too soft. Which is just well...what's a nice word for stupid?

Truth is the quality of your jpegs will be fine. What could happen, is that you get the impression that they're less sharp, it will be because Pentax applies less in-camera digital sharpening to give the pics a more "film-like" look, instead of digitalized.