Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jan 12, 2007, 2:28 AM   #1

I have a Tamron 28-200mm lens that has an aperture ring. I already set the camera to allow non-A settings. I'm somewhat flustered by the control I can have over the aperture, as I've never used manual lenses before.

With the lens set to A, I can adjust the aperture through AV, but the maximum aperture decreases as I increase the zoom, say from f/4.0 to f/5.6. Now if I set the aperture through the ring, could I leave it at f/3.6 all throughout the zoom range? If so, what is the disadvantage of doing so?
Illuminati is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 12, 2007, 3:38 AM   #2

Hi Illuminati,

there is a great explanation by Tom LaPrise about aperture and zoom in the
"Steves Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks > Digital (Aperture) Fstop Query" section.

I've quoted him here below

[line]
OK--first, the aperture vs. zoom thing:

Aperture setting is effectively the lens diameter divided by the focal length. (You're not changing the actual diameter of the lens, though, when you change the aperture setting; you're changing the diameter of an opening of an iris inside the lens assembly.)

You're probably aware that an aperture setting is written as f/some number, with f being the lens' focal length setting. For f/3.5, the iris is set so that the effective diameter of the lens is your focal length divided by 3.5. At f/8, the opening will make your effective lens diameter focal length divided by 8. As you can see, since it's a fraction, if you make the denominator smaller, the iris opening gets bigger.

There is a physical limit to how big that iris opening can get because the parts that make up the iris (often, metal or plastic "leaves" that pivot at one end and overlap) have to fit inside the lens barrel. The smallest number shown for your available aperture settings represents that limit.