Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 15, 2007, 1:31 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default

I just got off the phone with Pentax tech support and was told that they will be releasing another firmware update in a few weeks. It will address the AWB issues among other things. AWB is rather bad right now, especially in mixed tungsten lighting.
jnosal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 15, 2007, 1:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 546
Default

jnosal wrote:
Quote:
I just got off the phone with Pentax tech support and was told that they will be releasing another firmware update in a few weeks. It will address the AWB issues among other things. AWB is rather bad right now, especially in mixed tungsten lighting.
That's good to hear because the AWB is really bad for indoor shots. I almost always use manual WB now. This is going to expose me as a total newbie, but exactly how do we update the firmware in our cameras?
gadgetnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2007, 1:52 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Black Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oxford, CT
Posts: 1,309
Default

Heres the instuction Straight from Pentax

REPARATION
  • You will need a blank, formatted memory card with a capacity of 8MB or higher. [/*]
  • You will need your camera's USB cable, or a memory card reader. [/*]
  • Make sure your batteries are fresh, or that you are using an optional AC adapter to prevent power interruptions during the update process. [/*]
  • Make sure your camera currently has firmware version 1.00 or 1.01. You can check your current firmware version by turning the camera on while holding down the MENU button. [/*]
[line] FIRMWARE UPDATE INSTRUCTIONS - WINDOWS
  1. Click the Windows link below to download the self-extracting firmware archive file (kc_e102w.EXE). Click SAVE to save the download file to your computer's hard drive. Saving it to your desktop, for example, will make it easy to find after the download is complete. Please note: this download file is not the firmware update file itself, but a compressed archive that must be expanded in the following step. [/*]
  2. Next, double click the download file to expand it. Once expanded, you will see a readme text file (README.TXT) and the firmware update file itself (FWDC156B.BIN). The readme file contains instructions similar to what you are reading on this page.[/*]
  3. You must now copy the firmware update file (FWDC156B.BIN) to your camera's memory card. When you connect the camera directly to your computer (or if you use a card reader), the memory card appears as a removable disk drive in the My Computer window. Make sure you are using a blank/formatted memory card, then drag & drop (or copy & paste) the firmware update file (FWDC156B.BIN) from the desktop to your removable disk window, which is the camera's memory card. Please note: You must put the firmware update file (FWDC156B.BIN) directly onto the removable disk; it cannot be in any sub-folders. It must be on the top (or root) level of the removable disk.[/*]
  4. Now that you have copied the firmware update file (FWDC156B.BIN) to your camera's memory card, you are ready to install it. Make sure your camera is turned off and disconnected from the computer. Make sure that the memory card containing the firmware update file is inserted into your camera. Also, make sure you that you have adequate power in your camera. We recommend you use a Pentax AC adapter to perform the firmware update, but if you do not have a Pentax AC adapter, make certain that your batteries have a full charge.[/*]
  5. To begin the update, turn your camera on while holding down the MENU button. If you have followed the above instructions precisely, the camera will begin to load the new firmware. You will see the message "NOW LOADING" then the camera will display the firmware update menu.[/*]
  6. Select "YES" using your camera's 4-way controller (the default is "NO") then press your camera's OK button.[/*]
  7. The camera will now update its firmware. This may take a couple of minutes, so be careful to not interrupt the process.[/*]
  8. When the update is complete, you will see "COMPLETE" on your camera's LCD screen. Turn the camera off and remove the memory card.[/*]
  9. With the memory card removed from the camera, check your new firmware version by turning the camera back on while holding down the MENU button. Before you begin to take pictures again, be sure to format your memory card to erase the firmware update file.[/*]
Black Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2007, 2:00 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 546
Default

Oh man....now THAT will make me nervous. If anything goes wrong in the middle of the process....well, I don't even want to think about it.
gadgetnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2007, 2:40 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Black Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oxford, CT
Posts: 1,309
Default

Its really Not as bad as it sounds. I have done it several times with My DS. And its none the Worst For it.
I Believe that Roy had a bad Flash happen, But he was able to just reflash and It worked fine.

BK/Phil
Black Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2007, 3:10 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Corpsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 879
Default

Oh, I can't wait for this. My two main beefs with this camera are the buffer and the AWB. I like shooting bursts, but without good AWB, I often have to use RAW instead of JPG, and then I can only shoot 3. If AWB is fixed, I can do 7 shot bursts of JPG, AND have plenty of room left on the card. :-)
:| :| :| :| :| :| :|
Corpsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2007, 3:43 PM   #7
TDN
Senior Member
 
TDN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,288
Default

Oh nice, did they mention anything about doing it for the *ist series too?
TDN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2007, 4:20 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default

I called about WB issues on my K100D and the representative only mentioned a fix for the K100D/K110D. He said to check their website in a few weeks. Im sure Steve will run a story when it comes out.
jnosal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2007, 9:17 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
Default

I just updated my k100d it was easy. Thanks for the update.
cwguy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:08 AM.