Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jan 24, 2007, 2:17 PM   #1

This is directed at anyone who wishes to help.

I am very new to all of this and the K100D is myfirst DSLR. I have gotten some great shots with it so far, but I can't help but feel like the good ones were always by accident. I'm still trying to learn the basics of the camera and the basics of photography in general.

Since the weather has been so cold lately, the bulk of my photography has been indoors at events like my son's wrestling matches at school.These are very tricky because the distance does not allow me to use a flash and I need to use my longest lens (Tamron 70-300mm). Just by playing around, I have stumbled across settings which give me pretty niceresults....untill someone moves. If everyone is still,the shots are in focus and the white balance looks great. But as soon as there is any movement, I get total blur. I can't seem to find the magic formula that will allow me to capture movementin low light without a flash. Can it be done? Can it be done with a K100D and my lenses? I see so many great indoor action shots taken by pro's at things like NBA Basketball games. How do they get those? Thanks for any help.
gadgetnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 24, 2007, 3:01 PM   #2

The aperture of your Tamron lens goes to 5.6 at 300mm and it is just not fast enough for the kind of shooting you describe. You will have to buy at the very least that is 2.8 and that kind of lens gets very pricey. Indoor sports shots takes some very expensive glass to get the results you are after.

At 5.6 you can't get the minimum 1/500th of a sec. shutter speed to freeze the action indoors.

Shoot at higher iso 1600, 3200 as well if you only have the Tamron 70-300mm to work with. That way you can keep up that shutter speed.