Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jan 28, 2007, 8:38 PM   #1

Well, I just wrote a long post about metering and it got ate lol. So here we go again.

I've been shooting a lot of stuff outdoors lately and I'm not satisfied with the results.I'm thinking that metering is my problem. I'm very new to the world of photography so I know nothing about metering or the settings I should use.The pics Ive been taking seem to be fuzzy but not blurry. I took a couple of these horses as tests and shot a sign as a test as well. Taken with K10D sigma 135-400mm at 400mm in AV mode using the multi metering mode.I've tried different aps and the results seem tjhe same so Im thinking metering could do the trick. Now the question is........When shooting a particular subject, like a horse or whatever should I use spot metering or center weighted metering as opposed to multi metering? How about indoors taking portraits? I'm assuming when shooting landscapes or wide angle shots I should use multi, but Im confused when spot and center weighting is best? Any help would be much appreciated.
Attached Images

Spiritbro77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 28, 2007, 8:40 PM   #2

Adjusting the levels helps a bit but not all that much. I left these as shot though to show whats happening.
Attached Images

Old Jan 28, 2007, 8:44 PM   #3

And finally a sign I used for testing peuposes. I shot at different aps and the results looked the same or very close to it.
Attached Images

Old Jan 28, 2007, 9:50 PM   #4

I'm not the best person to answer this - I'm really struggling right now.