Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Apr 14, 2007, 2:58 PM   #1

I posted part of this problem in another forum and after some very helpful answers I thought I had made a decision but WhackyRoger's pictures have made me start rethinking the issue.

This is the situation;

I am new to dslrs and happily "learning" with my new K100d. Then brother offered me his Nikon d80 body for my upcoming 50th birthday. When I expressed concern over switching from Pentax to Nikon he then offered to sell the d80 and get me the k10d for my birthday. I think part of this is because he is desperate to figure out what to get me and doesn't want to have to think about it any more. LOL

This is the problem:

I think the d80 would be more user friendly but Nikon lenses can be REALLY expensive. It does not have in body SR nor does it have some of the other features that the Pentax offers. I don't have a large collection of Pentax stuff yet but I do have the two kit lenses, the 50 1/4 prime, and the 540 flash and one of my goals was to get the wonderful 77mm. However, I have already encountered the problem of the small buffer on the k100d and the new DA* lenses won't function fully on the k100 so even though I was not thinking of upgrading right now I can see that it is something I would probably want to do before too long.

All the reviews of the k10d describe it as a camera for an "advanced amateur" , "not for a novice", "a thinkers camera" and, as such, may be too much of an upgrade for me. The d80 was described as being able to be used by anyone in addition to being a really nice camera.