Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old May 7, 2007, 7:16 PM   #1

Hey ya'll. I got the Sigma 500 DG Super flash for Christmas. I only used it a couple of times for macros outdoor indaylight as I normally don't take lots of photos indoors. I did not notice any problems at that time. I recently upgraded to K100d's firmware to 1.2 and, for the first time, really used the flash for some indoor shooting. Unfortunately it blew almost every picture out completely. I was able to use it some by EV compensating -2.0 on the camera but ended up going back to the onboard flash.

I was using the flash in P-TTL mode and the camera was set to Av priority. There are a couple of examples of the shots I got. Before I send this thing back to Sigma, does anyone have any thoughts on something I could have been doing wrong. Please remember that I am a complete flash noob. The exif should be intact. The thing I noticed was that I was getting ridiculously long shutter times and I noticed that the exif is reporting that the flash did not fire.

If anyone has any suggestions at all, I would appreciate it. Otherwise this thing is going back to Sigma this week.

Thanks,
Tim
Attached Images

NonEntity1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 7, 2007, 7:16 PM   #2

Example 2
Attached Images

Old May 7, 2007, 7:35 PM   #3

I know nothing about yuor camera or flash models but I noticed your ISO was set at 800 seems kind of high for indoor pics with a powerful flash.
tjsnaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2007, 7:49 PM   #4

Hi Tim

First i would try lower the ISO. I have the Sigma EF 500 DG ST. Not entirely Sure about the Super but i know that there was some issue awhile back regarding My flash not working with the K100D.
Mine was originally purchased for my DS. But So far is working Fine with My K100D. If it did not work you had to send it back to Sigma and they Fixed it.