Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old May 12, 2007, 11:31 PM   #1

I am contemplating buying the K100d, but I am somewhat concerned about the small buffer issue. Being a newbie, I am not even sure it applies to me; hence the post.

I will use the camera primarily to shoot nature and the antics of my two year old daughter. I think my need for continuous shooting might be somewhat limited. My question is, given the small buffer, how quickly can I shoot in single-shot mode? Should I even be concerned about the buffer?

Thanks for your help. NP.
grandpiper is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 13, 2007, 12:28 AM   #2

Just my experience (I do mostly flowers and landscapes with some sports and architecture for variety) I don't have a problem with the buffer on the K100 shooting single shot. It takes me more time to glance down to review the picture, decide what I want to take next, line it up, focus and shoot than it does for the buffer to clear on single shot. Even when I'm not reviewing the photo, just changing something, like focal length or aperture orfocus it still takes me longer than the camera takes towrite the picture to the card. And I almost always shoot raw.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2007, 1:00 AM   #3

With JPG likely never an issue, you MIGHT shooting RAW in very quick shooting, but again likely not if you do any review, reaiming, focusing, framing, etc between shots.
Hayward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2007, 8:27 AM   #4

I have the K100d and I have filled the buffer shooting jpeg in single shot mode but I was pushing the shutter button about as fast as it fires in burst mode. As the others have said, this should not be an issue under normal circumstances.

Tim
NonEntity1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2007, 2:30 AM   #5