Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old May 18, 2007, 11:37 PM   #1

just bought a printer from fry's one day sale for $15usd it's a canonip1700. it will go on the shelf tho, as i'm using an ip1600, $20usd that i've been using for 6-7 months. these are not what i use for a photo printer. thing is that the new cartridges sell for $55usd.... talk about sucking you in?? it's a shame that most people know nothing about refilling..

with my ip6000d , i get 8 1/2 refills for $35 and if i did not refill, it would cost over $650usd for canon replacements
robar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 19, 2007, 12:04 AM   #2

Canon isn't the only one that does that, refils for my Epson Photo printer cost $70 for all six, while a new printer on sale is $40. I can get the ink from China (not Epson) for about $20 and it works just fine, although it will fade very quickly if used to print photos.

Inkjet printers are expensive to use!

Tom
ennacac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2007, 12:12 AM   #3

I've ended up replacing printers a couple of times, instead of buying new ink. Most recently I've been having trouble with the paper-feed on an HP printer, so have started thinking of buying another new one.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2007, 12:42 AM   #4

mtngal wrote:
Quote:
I've ended up replacing printers a couple of times, instead of buying new ink. Most recently I've been having trouble with the paper-feed on an HP printer, so have started thinking of buying another new one.
That is why inkjets are sold so CHEAP.... they KNOW they will make it up on the supplies.

But you cost it out though might seem much more expensive laser.... you are talking 1000' of pagesb rather than dozens (especially photo)