Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jul 13, 2007, 10:45 PM   #1

In reality it is a 0% Crop

You crop/reduce res of an image by a percent, if you are just carving and not reducing the res, then it is a 0% crop

Though understand the misknomer... but it is confusing... technically a 100% crop would be no image at all or maybe 1 pixel.... if 99.999%

OK it is 100% or orig res, but it is a 0% crop.... in the way crop reduction is otherwise meant.
Hayward is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 13, 2007, 11:36 PM   #2

???? Where did you pick up this wisdom?????

In the 80's, before the digital revolution, I worked in the pre-print business. I did the typesetting and layout of brochures, books and magazines. Cropping and resizing of pictures was, naturally, a big portion of the job.

For cropping we couldn't use any mathematical method. We simply put a semi transparent paper over the photo and defined with a pencil and a ruler what part of the picture was supposed to be printed in the magazine.

For the size, we used %. 100% meant "dont resize at all", 50% meant "resize to half the length and height of this original photo, 200% meant "enlarge to the double lenght/height of this original photo".

With the computers, a lot of things in the branch changed, but not the way of defining resizing of pictures.

I use Raw Shoopter Premium, Photoshop Elements 3 and sometimes CS2. They all use this same way of defining picture size. Maybe Adobe don't know much about handling pictures, but it would of course be convenient if everyone involved used the same nomenclatura.