Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Aug 26, 2007, 12:29 PM   #1

I find butterflies the most frustrating things to photograph. Street photography is difficult for me because I'm not very good at composition, something I'm working on.

Yesterday I was out wandering around the one tiny corner of the national forest near me that isn't under fire closure. I ran across these butterflies - they are really tiny, about as big as my thumbnail. This is one of those times I would have liked a 300mm macro lens so I could have stood back a bit and still "gotten close" to them. These were the best I could manage - they all have some flaws. An off-camera flash would have helped too, but not something I'm likely to carry on a rough, steep,abandoned logging road that isn't maintained as a trail any more.

To give you an idea of how small these really were:

K100, Phoenix 100mm macro, f11, 1/180 sec. I did not have the matched adaptor on the lens.
Attached Images

mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 26, 2007, 12:31 PM   #2

This was about as close as I could get with the DA*50-135:

K10, DA*50-135 @ 123mm, f5.6, 1/400 sec.
Attached Images

Old Aug 26, 2007, 12:35 PM   #3

I like this one, in spite of the fact that it isn't a good picture of a butterfly. The DOF is way too small to do the butterfly justice, but does give one contemplating this type of lens an idea of just how tiny the DOF can be (I went for a faster shutter speed). I did have the adaptor on thePhoenix when I took this one.

K100, Phoenix 100mm macro with adaptor, f6.7, 1/350.
Attached Images

Old Aug 26, 2007, 12:38 PM   #4

Last one - while this one also suffers from not quite big enough DOF, I thought it gave the butterfly more of a 3D effect.

K100, Phoenix 100mm macro with adaptor, f11, 1/350 sec.
Attached Images

Old Aug 26, 2007, 1:28 PM   #5