Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Sep 17, 2007, 1:39 AM   #1

After a lot of help from you folks over in the lenses forum, I finally ordered my K10d yesterday online.I went to the only camera store in Tucson (900,000 people, only one store?) that had both cameras. I was set on the K100d as I'm a newbie to DSLR, but decided to play with the k10 anyway. I found that because of a problem with my left arm (long story) and the small left-side grip area on the k100, I couldn't use it with any comfort or stability (my arm won't allow me to support the camera under the lens). Hence the K10 order. Probably a tall order being my first dslr, but now that I've ordered it I'm happy I won't be envious of the weather seals, 10mp, etc.

I'll be back in 18 months when I understand how to use the darn thing:O

Todd
tnaskedov is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 17, 2007, 9:01 AM   #2

Hope you'll be back a lot sooner than that asking questions about things. Don't hestitate to ask - there's lots of knowledgeable people around here.

Make sure to read the owners manual when you are charging your batteries - it's pretty dry but does explain things reasonably well. Don't worry about remembering it all at once - there's still things on the K10 I don't use so can't remember what they are for. Then, once you have a vague idea how to operate the camera and the batteries are charged - go out and have FUN!
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 11:11 AM   #3

Thanks for the vote of confidence. I'm really looking forward to learning it, actually.

A question on the manual: Is there a recommended book out there for the K10 that might augment or replace the manual? I've seen the Magic Lantern and some other company. Are these any good?

Todd
Old Sep 17, 2007, 12:08 PM   #4