Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Oct 26, 2007, 10:56 AM   #1

Hello All,

I am still new kinda new to Photography....I say kinda because I am a videographer / cinematographer.

My question....How do I achieve a good depth of field?

I have a K10D....what settings do I need to change? Focal Length, ISO? I am still new to this camera.

Thank you all.
mlcinema is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 26, 2007, 10:57 AM   #2

f stop?
mlcinema is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2007, 11:05 AM   #3
Administrator

Depth of Field is controlled by Aperture (smaller apertures, represented by higher f/stop numbers give more depth of field), Focus Distance (the further you are from your subject, the greater the depth of field), and focal length,

See this handy Depth of Field Calculator to get a better idea of howthese factors (focus distance, focal length, and aperture) worktogether for depth of field purposes. You can plug in your camera model, aperture, and focus distance and it will calculate the area of acceptable sharpness.

Keep in mind that if you use a longer focal length (or more zoom), you'll need to be further away for your subject to occupy the same percentage of the frame.

http://www.dofmaster.com/dofjs.html

Be careful of shutter speeds if you're trying to achieve more depth of field. If you use smaller apertures (higher f/stop numbers) for greater depth of field, you also require slower shutter speeds for proper exposure (which can cause motion blur in lower light if ISO speed is not fast enough).

Using smaller apertures can also impact flash range.

You also need to take lens characteristics into consideration. Most lenses tend to be sharper a couple of stops down from their widest aperture setting (lowest f/stop number). For example, a lens with a widest available aperture of f/2.8, may be considerably sharper at f/5.6.