Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Dec 16, 2007, 4:19 PM   #1

Hi,

I just picked up a K10D with the kit 18-55mm lens and I'm looking for a tele zoom lens to go with it. I've been reading the reviews and threads and looking at some of the pictures, but I still can't decide. So I was hoping some of you could weigh in with your opinions.

I use to shoot with an ME Super 30 years ago, but got out of it after college. So I have some very old experience, but I'm pretty much a noob all over again.

I'm looking for a zoom lens mostly to shoot outdoor water sports (surfing and kiteboarding) and also as a general purpose zoom. I don't plan on doing any large prints mostly online albums and sharing pictures with friends.

Since my girlfriend will be using the camera I want to stay with a newer autofocus lens. I'd like to keep the price around $250 so these are the lens I've been looking at:

Pentax F/4-5.6 DA 50-200 ($215)
Tamron AF70-300mm F/4-5.6 DI LD Macro ($189)
Sigma 70-300mm F/4-5.6 APO DG Macro ($219)
Sigma 28-300mm F/3.5-6.3 DG Macro ($259)

I'm leaning towards the 300mm lens just get a little better zoom. From what I've read people seem very pleased with their Sigma or Tamron 70-300mm. People seem to be pretty split on the Sigma 28-300mm. They either hate it or think it's a great value and the pictures are good. If the reviews weren't so split I'd probably go with the Sigma 28-300 just for the flexibility.

Has anyone compared the Sigma 28-300 to the other 300mm lens? Would a novice who isn't going to being doing enlargements even notice the difference in sharpness? I'd really like to go with the Sigma 28-300 but not if there is a noticeable difference in image quality

Any input would be appreciated. Thanks for all the help.

SoCal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 16, 2007, 4:36 PM   #2

SoCal wrote:
Quote:
Hi,