Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jan 16, 2008, 12:55 PM   #1

A guy is selling circular polarizers from Kenko at favourable prices. Are they any good? I bought an off-off-off brand 77 mm polarizer a few years ago, totally useless. Image degradation was worse than ifputgrease all over the front lens.

Kjell
bilybianca is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 16, 2008, 1:30 PM   #2

I have had some experience with Kenko products, they are probably the best of the bargain brands.

Ira
Monza76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2008, 1:39 PM   #3

Kjell, Years ago I had a Kenko 2x doubler for my Minolta set up. It did a pretty good job.

Glenn
Lyrics51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2008, 12:55 AM   #4

I just picked up a Hoya CP filter 72mm. Caution, just screw one way or it dismantles and there is grease all over! You twist the polarizer in same direction as mounting on to lens front. It can dismantle if you screw anticlockwise looking for maximum polarization. Hope this makes sense.
beachboy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2008, 8:57 AM   #5

Now that's interesting. I've had a couple of polarizers (linear ones from long ago), but never had one come apart on me, though I have half of one that had been my fathers (I never found the other part of it). The worst thing I've had happen is that they come unscrewed from the lens when I've been turning it that way. I think I'd be taking your Hoya back.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2008, 4:36 PM   #6

beachboy2 wrote:
Quote:
I just picked up a Hoya CP filter 72mm. Caution, just screw one way or it dismantles and there is grease all over! You twist the polarizer in same direction as mounting on to lens front. It can dismantle if you screw anticlockwise looking for maximum polarization. Hope this makes sense.