Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jan 28, 2008, 1:05 PM   #1

When you are working with raw (PEF if it matters) do you attempt to reduce noise during the raw conversion or when you are working in PS or PSP? I have some great butterfly macros from this past weekend, well they are great except for the factthe K10was setat ISO 800 and are so noisy I don't know that I can salvage them.

I am new to Lightroom but that is what I will be using for the Raw conversion. I mainly use PSP X and X2 for post processing. No high dollar plug ins but I might be tempted if there is something that can reduce the noise and still maintain detail as fine as butterfly hair.

Thank you for any advice,

Tim
NonEntity1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 28, 2008, 1:25 PM   #2

I have never had much luck with the noise removal tools that are built into the RAW converters or PS. I always use a noise removal plugin in PS (my favorite is NoiseWare Professional).

Just remember one thing...if you are doing noise removal with a plugin in PS, do that as the FIRST image adjustment you do. Anything else you may do to the image can make noise removal more difficult if done before noise removal.

Almost all of the noise removal plugins have a free trial period that lets you try them out (in some limited output way) before you decide. Besides NoiseWare, there is Noise Ninja and Neat Image.
rodeknyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2008, 1:56 PM   #3

Hi Tim,
I use Noiseware Pro Plug-in, but so far haven't ventured into RAW Processing. With Noise Ninja you can be more selective in applying noise reduction, by just working on parts that need it. Personally I like to apply NR early in any processing, later when you apply any final sharpening, at least you're not sharpening noise. ... Hope this helps ... Jack
jachol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2008, 2:49 PM   #4