Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Apr 6, 2008, 2:55 PM   #1

Location: Hebron, Kentucky (northern Kentucky/Greater Cincinnati):KCVG

I headed out to the airport to try my hand at panning. Of about 150 images, theses were the best 3! I'm not pleased with the sharpness of these. As you can tell, I have a long way to go in mastering this skill. Are there any secrets to a perfectly panned shot (besides practice)? For instance, is it easier to pan with a shorter focal length lens vs. a longer, etc?

These were taken with the Sigma 70-300 APO DG Macro and most at 1/60th or 1/90th of a second.

I'd like some feedback of what kind of motion is conveyed (i.e. static, slow, or fast).

Thanks, Jay

Wingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 6, 2008, 4:17 PM   #2

Hi Jay,
I am sure no expert at panning and what experience I do have is with race cars at much closer ranges, so take my $.02 for what they are worth (considering the value of the dollar, about $.0075). With the racing shots I found I got my best panning shots between 1/125 and 1/250, 1/180 was generally my target Tv. I was shooting with either a 135mm or 180mm lens and the cars would be twenty to forty yard/meters depending on where I was standing on the track. I think proximity to the moving object is going to be important for panning shots, otherwise the background will not move enough in relation to the subject. 1/60 panning with a 300mm lens would be tough. For technique I simply try to keep my legs straight and still and my arms in tight to my body and only pivot at the waist. Kind of like wingshooting if you have ever done that.

All of that said, I don't think those are a bad first effort and #2 in particular does a good job of capturing the speed of the airplane.

Tim
NonEntity1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2008, 7:27 PM   #3