Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jun 30, 2008, 9:36 PM   #1

Okay... I've been bugging you guys on and off for the past few weeks. Now I'm going to make up my mind and buy my long-awaited DSLR by the end of the July 4th weekend. I would still love a K20D and I am still crunching the numbers. But if it turns out that I just can't swing that camera along with the lenses I want, what's the better plan B? A K200D or a leftover K10D?

Please understand I'm not playing the "compare the specs" game. I'm looking for anyone with considerable knowledge of and/or personal experience with these cameras. I can tell you this much: The K20D/K10D is a perfect match for me ergonomically. But the K200D isn't far behind and I could be happy with it if there was some other reason to opt for it over the K10D - like image quality, reliability, etc.

I am an amateur photographer with a good amount of film SLR experience. I like to shoot everything from auto racing and football to wildlife, landscapes and auto shows. I am not necessarily a pixel-peeper. I am more concerned with real-world results. I'll admit, however, that I did read the DP review of the K10D that was pretty positive - with one exception. It pointed out a certain edge-softness (while still retaining good detail) to the K10D's images in very large (larger than A3) prints and enlargements. Has anyone noticed this - or know if the K200D is any better in this respect?

Either way, I think I'll skip the kit lens, buy the body only and pair whatever camera I buy with the Pentax 16-50mm f/2.8 and the 50-135mm f/2.8 lenses. Longer zooms or primes can come later.
Biro is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 30, 2008, 10:55 PM   #2

I haven't handled the K200, but I own the K100, recently sold a K10 and currently have a K20.