Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jul 29, 2008, 9:58 PM   #1

Hello all! I'm kinda still a newbie at the photography thing so I wanted to get some advice on a couple lens I was looking to purchase. I have a Pentax *ist DS and would like to get a zoom lens. Here are two I was looking at:

Tokina 70-210mm f/4-5.6 SZ-X 210 "N" Telephoto Zoom Manual Focus Lens for Pentax K
Vivitar 70-210mm Manual Zoom Lens for Pentax Model number: 214096

Again, I'm a newbie so I wanted to know if either one of these would fit my ist DS or which one would be better to purchase. Any other suggestions would be great. I'm on a shoe-string budget though!

Thanks!
maverick96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 29, 2008, 10:20 PM   #2

You'd need more information about the Vivitar to figure out what it is. It might be an outstanding lens but maybe not. You might find this web page interesting: http://www.robertstech.com/vivitar.htm . See also if you can get the serial number for it - it could tell you who actually made the lens.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2008, 11:05 PM   #3

The Vivitar may be a very good one. What is the serial number?
I have two 70-210 serial one lenses that are quite good.

A Group 1 made by Kiron and a Group 2 made by Tokina. Still hoping for a Group three made by Komine.

The URL suggested by Harriet is a very good one to find the maker of a Vivitar lens. The serial numbers work for all Vivitar lenses from the 70's and early 80's. Not just for Series one lens.

Dawg

bigdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 6:51 AM   #4

The serial number is 44062790

Here is all the other info I have on it:
  • Macro focusing as close as 1 - 4x[/*]
  • Superior optical performance with 12 elements in 8 groups[/*]
  • Fast f/4.0 - f/22 aperture range[/*]
  • One-touch focus and zoom control[/*]