Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Aug 17, 2008, 8:25 PM   #1

I was in the backyard getting things picked up in anticipation of Fay's arrival when I spotted a pair of bumblebees working on some plants that border our yard. Hurricane or not, a man has to have priorities, so I dropped what I was doing and grabbed the camera of course.

I carefully selected only the bee for a little bit of USM as the leaf already looked overly sharp straight out of the camera. I have considered applying a little bit of blur to the leaf, what do ya'll think?

Thanks,
Tim

Attached Images

NonEntity1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 17, 2008, 9:22 PM   #2

Well… I'm no expert but, I like it like it is!
GW
Goldwinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 9:23 PM   #3

Location: Hebron, Kentucky (northern Kentucky/Greater Cincinnati):KCVG

Tim, I like it just the way it is! That is some amazing detail on the bee--High Definition photography!

What lens were you using? I need to try the technique of applying sharpening to selected parts of the picture. I imagine the challenge is in carefully selecting the area for USM!

Jay
Wingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 9:31 PM   #4

Leave it as is - I like it. The leaf looks natural and the bee is lovely. The funny thing is that I can see me doing the same thing.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2008, 1:38 AM   #5

jelpee wrote:
Quote:
What lens were you using? I need to try the technique of applying sharpening to selected parts of the picture. I imagine the challenge is in carefully selecting the area for USM!

Jay
Thanks for the input GW, Jay and Harriet, I appreciate it. If it looks good to ya'll I will leave well enough alone.