Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Nov 25, 2008, 10:48 PM   #1

Apparently I inadvertently confused someone about Photoshop and how many versions there are of the program by saying that I had bought CS4 Design Premium. So I figure that since I muddied the waters, it made sense that I attempt to clarify things, hopefully in a simplified way.

As a disclaimer, I'm no Photoshop expert, even though I've been using it for a number of years. I'm not claiming that I have everything straight or have the official history of the program at my fingertips. I've just used it since Photoshop 3 and have watched it all evolve from the sidelines.

Adobe has a number of programs that they make/sell - Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign (I think that one grew out of PageMaker, a program I once used on a Mac with something like an 8 inch built-in screen). They were all separate programs and always sold separately. I had originally bought Photoshop 4 then upgraded to Photoshop 6.

After a while Adobe decided to put out their major programs in a suite, that could (as much as possible with programs that have different aims) work together and they put out the first Creative Suite. To differentiate the programs that were part of the suite from their earlier versions, they called the individual programs Photoshop CS, Illustrator CS etc. rather than Photoshop 9 (8? I don't remember what version it was supposed to be).

It didn't take long for photographers to change from calling Photoshop PS(version number) to calling it just CS. This wasn't much of a problem with Creative Suite - I think there was only one version of it and the version of Photoshop sold with it was the same program that was sold separately as Photoshop CS. A photographer who said he was using CS2 meant he was using Photoshop CS2, but he could just as easily been referring to Illustrator CS2 or InDesign CS2.