Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jan 6, 2009, 6:08 PM   #1

why does Pentax make such a big deal about their P-TTL mode, where as, all it does is spoil all your portrait shots by making everyone eyes close for the photo????????????????????????????????????????????? ????????????????????
Do you think Pentax has an idea in what their are doing, when they made this flash???? or was one of their engineers was trying to sabotage their name

Dave

Pentax K20D / D-BG2
DA*16-50 : DA*50-135 : 360 FGZ
Domke F3X
dafiryde is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 6, 2009, 6:25 PM   #2

I have to say that I have been using P-TL since for about 3 years and I have only had one person who blinked at the first flash. Solved this by having them look slightly away from the camera.

I have had the DL2 the K10D and now the K20D and also the Sigma 500DG Super.

Dal

Dal1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2009, 7:41 PM   #3

I also have the AF360 flash. I think the Pre-flash effect is common to to any P-TTL flash, not just the AF360, including the on-board pop up flash on the camera. I think at least one in 3 of my family members close their eyes immediately after the pre-flash resultng in eyes shut during the actual exposure. I get better results by setting the AF360 in Auto mode, and setting the aperature, ISO, and focal lenght to match the lens and camera settings. It's a little more work, but the results are better. For example if I'm using my FA 50mm f1.4,and set the ISO for 400, and use AV mode at F4, I would choose those same settings on the AF360 in Auto mode. There is no pre-flash. And to be honest I get more consistently well exposed shots.

This works on most people except for my niece, who seems to have the uncanny ability to anticipate shutter release and close her eyes for every flash shot no matter what I do.

Attached Images