Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Mar 14, 2009, 8:24 AM   #1

I've been using NI-MH batteries for about 18 months with a Sony Fast charger. Now, I find out that fast chargers are not very reliable. The batteries don't keep their charge and getvery hot, despite the blower used to cool them off. Can I recharge NI-MH batteries on a conventional low speed charger?

Thanx!
Denis39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 14, 2009, 9:00 AM   #2

Yes, a slow speed charger works well - it's supposed to be better for them, in fact. But whether they keep a charge or not might not completely have to do with the type of charger - my first set of NI-MH batteries were Sanyo that came with a Sanyo charger. After a year or two they quit being able to hold a charge. I switched to hybrid batteries and have been much happier - they hold a charge much better when they are not in use. I ended up buying Rayovac batteries with a charger at WalMart. I've had them now for more than a year, though I don't use the K100 or my flash all that often so haven't charged them more than a couple of times.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 9:02 AM   #3

Thanks ever so much!

Denis Boucher
Old Mar 14, 2009, 10:07 AM   #4

always now use the eneloop style pre charge batteries. they hold charge for much longer than standard and they can withstand high usage currents far better than standard nimh batteries. even though they are lower mah rated they perform far far better...

try a google based on eneloop, pre charged nimh, or low self discharge nimh batteries..

Thanks

Steve
5teve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 10:13 AM   #5

THank you , really appreciated!

Denis Boucher

Old Mar 14, 2009, 4:43 PM   #6