Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old May 30, 2009, 7:59 PM   #1

Default image stabilization and light weight - travel tripods

I had taken some night pictures in San Diego with some pretty long exposure times (15 seconds) using my newly acquired K20 and the DA16-45/f4, a light weight travel tripod, wireless release, mirror up, and everything else. The pictures were very good (I thought), however I was expecting just a bit better. At the time I chalked it up to just the bobbing of the boats in the harbor. I even disabled the shake reduction or image stabilization, because I was using a tripod (so much for actually reading the manual).

Well, the light plastic travel tripod I had been using for about 4 years, had one of the legs separate, so this afternoon I was surfing for some tripod information, looking to acquire a new and possibly light weight travel tripod. I came across this web site that had an interesting analysis down towards the bottom....

http://photo.net/equipment/velbon/343e/

I now think that the vibration came from the tripod (road vibration from behind me, etc.). I have been somewhat haphazard in the past about trying to remember to turn SR off when using the tripod, however now - it is just going to stay on unless the camera is sitting on concrete. This also leads to yet another problem of remembering to turn SR back on.

In the past I never saw any problems induced by having SR on, and now with it off, I see just enough - to understand that a somewhat less than rock solid tripod will transmit vibrations (also it can be the material that does not dampen the vibrations) - so in the case of light weight tripods - I am gonna use SR.