Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Oct 20, 2009, 11:23 AM   #1

Default Sea Gulls and Others

The last day we were in Washington I spent the morning walking part way out Dungeness Sand Spit. It's a wildlife preserve and is known for its birds. For those that don't know, I'm not a very good birder, but I try when I get the chance. Up until recently I was using the manual focus A*300 lens for birds but recently splurged on the DA*300. This was my first opportunity to try shooting bird with an auto focus lens, and I readily admit that I'm not very good at it, or birding in general.

The day before I had been finding myself being too heavy on the shutter - many of my pictures showed camera shake. So, to try to compensate for that, I switched the camera to continuous shooting (also seemed appropriate with birds as a topic), to try to be lighter. That part really worked well - though I ended up with over twice the number of shots I would normally have, and then had the very slow process of going through them all, trying to decide which ones to keep (takes me forever as I have a tough time making choices by flipping a coin) when there's not much difference between them.

The sand spit is nothing but sand and driftwood. It's not too bad walking at low tide (when I started out) but much harder going as the tide came in and forced me into walking through deeper, less packed sand.

One side of the spit faces the Strait of Juan de Fuca, the other is a protected bay. They allow fishing in the bay.

Unfortunately, I didn't get many birds. I have a nice silhouette of a GBH, a cormorant, some backlit ducks, a diving bird that swims very low in the water also backlit and unidentifiable, along with some sea gulls.

That shot was a full frame picture, here's a crop.

Here's some more sea gulls:

And LOTS more sea gulls:

Birds do leave things behind: