Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jan 27, 2010, 2:19 PM   #1

Default Lenses for Pentax K-x

I'm a dSLR newbie and about to purchase the Pentax K-x (tomorrow if all goes well). I plan on purchasing the camera with the standard 18-55mm lens to use for general purpose, travel, family events, etc.

My plan is to purchase a wide apeture lens a few months down the road once I feel more comfortable with the camera. It's mostly personal preference, I love the "wide open" look in photos, especially for casual portraits. I'd love to get a 1.4 or 1.8 lens. Does anyone have any specific recommendations for an affordable lens that would suit these needs with the Pentax K-x?

Like I said, I don't want to purchase the lens immediately but I would like to have an idea of what I'm looking for and how much I might expect to spend.

Thanks!
JillT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 27, 2010, 3:00 PM   #2

Hey Jill, welcome to the forum.
I think that lens choice is dependent on a lot of variables.
Probably the best thing to do is go to this link and do lots of research before making any kind of decision. http://www.pentaxforums.com/lensreviews/ It has lots of info you will find interesting. Good luck and don't be afraid to ask questions.

Life's a breeze on a Goldwing...
Goldwinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2010, 3:43 PM   #3

What's your budget?

My favorite portrait lens, though it is a bit long for casual use is the FA 77 f1.8 Limited. It has a special quality that's wonderful and it's not real big. I fell in love with it when I tried a rep's sample, then fought the urge to buy one for over a year because I already owned the DA*50-135 and two SMC M 50 mm - an f1.7 and an f1.4 and didn't need it. And it's expensive. But is it ever nice, one of my best lenses and I have no regrets buying it.