Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Feb 27, 2010, 10:57 AM   #1

Default How I Do BIF's

Have gotten many questions on my BIF photos. I am no pro, just do what I have found to works best for me. I am fortunate to live in an area where I can get a lot of practice.

I have found using spot focus on BIF's frustrating. I have more success using multipoint focus. With multi point I find if you have the subject anywhere near the middle it will focus on the closest object. The trick is to not depress the shutter half way until the subject is near the center, you can tell if focus is on the subject or the background. I do use spot focus when there are objects in front of the subject, or in a congested area, but it is tough if you do not have a large slower subject. Fast darting birds are hit and miss.

I generally shoot aperture priority and select ISO on conditions. Shutter priority can give suprises in aperture for sharpness. Aperture and shutter priority can give suprises in ISO for sharpness. In some conditions it is always hit and miss.

I like to use at least F8, conditions permitting. This will usualy get even large birds totaly in focus. F2.8 sounds great but gives shallow dof and heavy lens usually requiring tripod. I usually shoot hand held, I find tripod limiting in range of coverage and miss many shots. You will loose some photos but hand holding is more flexible. Shutter speed of 1/800 sec. works well but is not always achievable.

In exposure compensation I use + 2/3 to 1 1/3 for dark birds against light background, for white birds I use - 2/3 to 1 stop compensation. Black and white birds? Your guess is as good as mine.

Commentys and ideas are welcome.

Ed
snooked is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 27, 2010, 4:23 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by snooked View Post