Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old May 9, 2010, 11:19 PM   #1

Default Which do you like better?

There's 3 pairs of pictures that I've processed, the first one of the frames of a set and the second an HDR picture made up of 5 frames. I'm curious which of the pair you prefer and why.

First two:

#2 HDR:

Second pair:

#4 HDR:

I should have used a bigger dof on this second pair. I was trying for a small dof, but it was too small and in my opinion, the slightly oof front of the whatever-it-is (block?) is distracting.

Third pair:

#6 HDR:

All of this was taken in natural lighting. I'm not entirely sure that I prefer seeing all of the details in the shadows. For some reason, I rather like #5 though the dirt on the metal is almost blown out. I thought the extreme contrast seemed to fit the subject better. But perhaps I'm way off base on this.

I'm no mechanic - is this the block, part of it, or something entirely different? I think whatever it is belongs to an inline 6 cylinder engine.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 10, 2010, 12:43 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtngal View Post
I thought the extreme contrast seemed to fit the subject better..
Spontaneously I felt the same. Maybe the last one would benefit from a midway, bringing out a little more detail in the shadows but not as much as in your HDR.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtngal View Post
I'm no mechanic - is this the block, part of it, or something entirely different? I think whatever it is belongs to an inline 6 cylinder engine.
I'm not sure about the correct English wording, but to me it looks like the head of a 6 cylinder engine. I guess BigDawg, Roy or someone else will chime in and tell you what brand, manufacturing year, serial number and the name of the guy on the assembly line who mounted it on the engine!

Kjell
bilybianca is offline   Reply With Quote