Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jun 25, 2010, 2:37 PM   #1

Default Joined the Pentax dSLR club...looking for direction.

Hello Pentax Posse:

I recently purchased a Pentax K-X kit with both the DAL 18/55 and the 55/300 lenses. I am new to the dSLR front coming up from my Canon G9. Up until this point I have just been shooting my son playing in the backyard, but I am looking to expand my use, and try to actually learn how to get the most of my new camera, and to of course better learn the art of photography.

I wanted to know if anyone had a good site, book or place I can look to get some really good information on utilizing this camera to it's potential. General placed to look on easy to understand photographic techniques or other good "hey try this" type information would be nice. I consider myself a beginner, however I have shot about 35,000 pictures in the past 10 years on Sony and Canon cameras ranging from artist horizons, macros, animals, people and general scenary. I am very good with photoshop and enjoy post processing those "money" shots when you come across them. I took videograhy in college, understand the basics on light metering, fstops, etc. I consider myself an enthusiast that is interested in taking my hobby to the next level. This is my first Pentax and my first tru-dSLR. I have owned prosumers for about all of those 10 years including my last 2 cameras Canon Powershot Pro1 and Canon G9. Regardless, any information on photography that is a good read, books to buy for your handbag, or websites that are full over great information in one place whether general or Pentax K-X related would be greatly appreciated.