Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Sep 17, 2010, 9:30 AM   #1

Default First shots with Pentax K-x

vinnybear is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 17, 2010, 2:23 PM   #2

I can tell you are going to love this camera !!

That first shot makes a really lovely family keeper - nice and soft (maybe a touch more sharpening required in your software) but definitely a print and hang shot !

Nikon : D800, D600, Sigma 500/4.5, Sigma 120-300/2.8, Zeiss Distagon ZF2 - 21/2.8, Zeiss Distagon ZF2 - 35/2.0, Nikkor 85/1.8G, Sigma 50/1.4. Nikon x1.4 TC, Sigma x2.0 TC
Frogfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2010, 3:04 PM   #3

i am new to editing RAW. I have photoshop cs5 with camera raw editor.
i have been using photoshop to edit photos for years, but always in a destructive method. i love the possibilities with editing RAW, but like i said, i am new to it and would welcome some help. for instance, with the first photo of the girls on the bench, i made edits, but still have the original dng file.

if anyone is so daring, or helpful, here is a link to a zip file containing both the original dng file and the dng with my edits. if an experienced RAW editor would like to show me how good this photo could really look, post it back, and give some info about what they did to achieve it, that would be awesome!

link:
http://www.genesisstudios.net/girls.zip
vinnybear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2010, 3:20 PM   #4

Congratulations on your new Camera. I completley agreed with frogfish. # 1 is a keeper.
Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro Autofocus
http://razzi.me/zuken
Zuken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2010, 9:36 PM   #5

Very nice shots! I love the puppy dog - but then I love dogs.

I'm not sure I'd change anything on the first one, I like it the way it is.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2010, 6:18 PM   #6

Hey Vinny,