Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Nov 18, 2010, 2:11 PM   #1

Default K-5 Bandwagon

Well i'm jumping on it - the latest firmware update smashes my last niggle i had with the camera

3 seconds of continous shooting at 7fps - NICE!!! - combined with its amazing dynamic range - high iso capability - lower iso limit and of course hugely improved autofocus its just too good a package to say no too.

will possibly sell my k7 - if it doesn't look like i'll get a reasonable amount for it then will keep it as a backup and pretend i'm a pro =)

so k5 combined with the da* 16-50mm (really want a weather sealed normal lens with fast aperture) i can get a rebate of 120 plus the VAT tax increase in january means i'll save a further 30 so may aswell get it now rather than wait till setember next year which is when i would likely be able to get it for that price again

so hopefully tomorrow or early next week will be joining the k5 bandwagon but from then on photographic purchases are off for several years (possible exception of a studio flash kit if i want to take up portrait/fashion photography... always gotta leave yourself an out!!! )
Pentax Photo Gallery
John.Pattullo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 18, 2010, 2:36 PM   #2

I'm starting to feel really depressed.

Life's a breeze on a Goldwing...
Goldwinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2010, 3:30 PM   #3

Have it now for a day, and can already say that it's a great upgrade.

For me it's a combination of the k-7 and k-5 upgrade because I didn't have the k-7, and now I understand why everybody likes the k-7.

Just installed the new firmware, no problems haven't shot that many pictures in a series yet but 1 day (where I did have to work) isn't enough to try everything out.

Cheers

Ronny
Old Nov 18, 2010, 4:54 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldwinger View Post