Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Nov 21, 2010, 5:51 PM   #1

Default California Morning

Woke up this morning to winter (at least this time they had predicted it).

The view out my upstairs window:

Looking in a different direction:

I mentioned in another thread that when it snows we have to clean off the snow from the dish. This morning was no exception:

All right, I have to try something different to capture the feel of snow:

I really like the pictures Ned posts of his Finnish forests. They are so different than ours. I tried to take a picture of our type of forest but thought it failed miserably, a very boring picture. So I started playing with it and some of Topaz Lab's plugins (I ended up buying their whole suite when down in Del Mar last week). I came up with this and I can't decide if I think it's rather cool or as stupid as the original. It is definitely not my normal type of photograph. So I'd very much like to know what you all think of it - do you really hate this and this type of thing? Or are you intrigued with it? Let me know.

mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 21, 2010, 5:58 PM   #2

Location: Hebron, Kentucky (northern Kentucky/Greater Cincinnati):KCVG

Just beautiful and very nicely captured...can't wait myself to do some winterscapes. I find #4 especially appealing! BTW, any trouble with the Direct TV this morning???
Wingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2010, 6:14 PM   #3

Great scenery, and well captured.
Have to admit that the last photo doesn't quite grab me. Not absolutely certain why, perhaps it's just too black and white for me! That said I do like the effect of the 13mm, it frames the photo really well.

Keithw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2010, 6:22 PM   #4