Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jan 18, 2011, 12:07 PM   #1

Default My k100d super just arrived....

So, I am new to this particular forum thread, but hope to be back once I figure out my new-old camera. Actually I took it out of the box and took some test shots right away--and I'm impressed so far! The camera seems very intuitive to use, and fairly easy to use; Although I thought I had forgotten everything I once knew about slr photography, it started coming back as I worked with the camera. I like how it feels in the hands and it seems very solid. So far, so good....

I was, however, concerned when the camera "thunked" loudly every time I turned it on! Good thing I did a google search and discovered the camera was set to shake off the dust on the sensor on every power up..... Turned that off, and it's as quiet as a mouse now.

BTW, how often should I activate the mechanism to keep dust from collecting?

Thanks!
amc654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 18, 2011, 1:29 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by amc654 View Post
So, I am new to this particular forum thread, but hope to be back once I figure out my new-old camera.welcome to the forum Actually I took it out of the box and took some test shots right away--and I'm impressed so far! K100D Super is a very good cameraThe camera seems very intuitive to use, and fairly easy to use; Although I thought I had forgotten everything I once knew about slr photography, it started coming back as I worked with the camera. I like how it feels in the hands and it seems very solid. So far, so good....

I was, however, concerned when the camera "thunked" loudly every time I turned it on! Good thing I did a google search and discovered the camera was set to shake off the dust on the sensor on every power up..... Turned that off, and it's as quiet as a mouse now.