Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Feb 1, 2011, 3:07 PM   #1

Default First try at Portraits ...

Well... our little church school talked me into taking the school photos this year. This is my first try at portraits with studio lights and its a lot harder than one might think. Of course, not having a clue as to what I was doing might have had a lot to do with it.
I learned a few things.
1. I need a lot more practice.
2. I needed a little more time, I was rushed to get all the kids through before school was out and I barely made it.
3. Getting young children to pose isn't easy.
And 4. always check your white balance before taking photos!!!
One other thing, using Pentax Remote Assistant is a little awkward getting use to. and it slows things down considerably.
Anyway, here are a few samples of what I came home with. Ant and all C&C welcome. I can use all the help I can get!
BTW, these were taken with my Vivitar 135mm lens.

Life's a breeze on a Goldwing...
Goldwinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 1, 2011, 3:09 PM   #2

This young lady was a delight to work with.

Have to work on color of the skin tone...

This guy is a joker, and having a student in back of me making faces wasn't helping matters but, at least he was smiling.

When you have those that just don't want to co-operate... you have to get imaginative, and you never know what you'll come up with.
the slow shutter speed made it a little blurry be cause he was laughing, he wasn't sitting still.

Same problem here too...

Old Feb 1, 2011, 3:09 PM   #3

This little one was so sweet, and patient with me...

This little guy was so adorable! but once again, movement made it blurry but, I had to post it anyway.
Looks like I'll have to do a few re-takes.

Old Feb 1, 2011, 3:15 PM   #4