Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Feb 5, 2011, 2:37 PM   #1

Default lens hoods

ok i am new to the dslr world and i have bought a pentax k-x in the fall. I have a great popportunity using it on my recient trip to mexico and i am really thinking of getting a lens hood for it. The thing is no one in my area seems to sell any of them...??? They all have told me they are special orders direct from pentax and then they are costly. The henry's photo place near me said they have a rubber one ( not pentax brand) for my 18-55 lens... is teh rubber one just as good as the plastic ones? or am i better off paying more and ordering a plastic one from pentax?
lin7604 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 5, 2011, 4:50 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by lin7604 View Post
ok i am new to the dslr world and i have bought a pentax k-x in the fall. I have a great popportunity using it on my recient trip to mexico and i am really thinking of getting a lens hood for it. The thing is no one in my area seems to sell any of them...??? They all have told me they are special orders direct from pentax and then they are costly. The henry's photo place near me said they have a rubber one ( not pentax brand) for my 18-55 lens... is teh rubber one just as good as the plastic ones? or am i better off paying more and ordering a plastic one from pentax?
I don't find the rubber 'universal' ones as good as the ones from Pentax. I lost my lens hood from my Pentax 16-45mmlens, last year. Almost choked when they told me a replacement from Pentax, would be around $ 75.

Used a wide angle rubber hood for $ 10. It vignettes around 16-19mm...kind of useless.

I don't use a lens hood with this 16-45 lens anymore. It seems to be ok.

I wasn't impressed when Pentax didn't provide a lens hood for my 18-55 kit lens that came with my Pentax KM.