Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Mar 15, 2011, 10:25 PM   #1

Default Black and White

I've been playing around with Silver Efex 2 and having a great time with it. I've always loved black and white photography but never played with it when I was shooting film. The time or two I tried it seemed like I had no idea what would work. I'm still a beginner with the plug-in and still discovering what might (or might not) look good in black and white, but I'm starting to get some results that I like enough to get some feedback on.

#1:

Taken from my upstairs window in February. I know it has it's faults (the reflection from the window, for one) but I like it and thought that particular fault gave the picture more of a feeling of place. It's not one I would enter in a contest, but as a memory snap, I thought it was effective. Does it work or not?

#2:

Taken the same day. While I think the conversion worked well and there's some things I like about this picture, is it too much a cliche? Or perhaps it's just boring in general?

#3:

High Rise Architecture. Its always fascinating to see how architects try to get their high-rise buildings to have a unique look to them, so they don't look like a tall rectangle. In this case, the architect added some interesting shapes to the top couple of floors. The pictures I took showing these floors with many of the lower floors didn't work at all, but I liked how this shot taken with the DA*200 came out (5 shot auto bracketed series, HDR with HDR Efex and converted to b&w with Silver Efex 2).

As always, critiques and comments are welcome.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 15, 2011, 11:04 PM   #2

The black and white conversions are marvelous.

#1 is a great shot, too bad about the reflections because the detail and contrast in the lower left is really eyecatching.