Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Apr 30, 2011, 10:33 PM   #1

Default More Silver Efex

Been playing some more with Silver Efex. I wonder if I'm on the right track with these or not. I like them, but I have little experience with black and white, which I think depends more on composition than many color photos, another weak area for me. So let me know what you think of them.

#1 - Another sand dune picture:

#2 - Old wood

#3 - Sand Texture

#4 - Snow scene, my back yard

#5 - Blowing snow - not sure that this one is as successful as the one above, but for some reason, I just like it. Don't know why.

#6 - Abandoned mine and town (back to the desert). The frame is one that's a preset in Silver Efex, and I thought it fit this picture, it's not one that I'd use normally.

#7 - Mountain

#8 - Valve (taken with the K100 and Hoya R72 filter)

#9 - Lots of valves (also taken with the Hoya R72 filter)

I'd really appreciate some feedback. I'm experimenting with different things and have know idea if I'm way off-track or getting a better feel for how to make use of the plug-in.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 1, 2011, 1:38 AM   #2

The last one of the multiple valves is a little flat. Not enough contrast, me thinks. Just my opinion, though. So I added some contrast to it.
lisalonewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2011, 8:33 AM   #3

That is an interesting B/W application. Enjoyed the number 4 mystical snow scene. I would like to see a close crop of the leaves and pipe to show the contrast between the foliage and the metal. Nature overcoming technology.
pboerger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2011, 11:27 AM   #4