Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old May 5, 2011, 10:10 PM   #1

Default Political Rally

As some of you know, I am a newspaper reporter and photographer. I covered a doctor and her husband, Dr. Mollie Fry and Dale Schaffer, turning themselves into the federal building in Sacramento, California to begin serving five year prison terms for recommending and providing marijuana to patients. Although legal under California law, the federal government from the Bush administration into Obama has pursued the pair for 10 years. With appeals exhausted, except for clemency from the president, they turned themselves in on May 2 to go to prison. It was quite a media event with a rally on the federal building steps to protest their sentences. Number 1: A speaker from Americans for Safe Access, an organization that supports medical marijuana. Number 2: Mollie and Dale. Number 3: Law enforcement waiting to take them away. Number 4: Dr. Fry addressing the crowd. Number 5: Last walk into the building to go to prison.
Attached Images

pboerger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 6, 2011, 6:20 AM   #2

Despite harsh light and potentially adverserial conditions, your talents for people photography shine through!
mole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2011, 9:11 AM   #3

Thanks Mole. It was interesting and sad at the same time. The guy with the Nikon was in their face, shooting a high FPSs just inches at times from them. They, of course, wanted as much media as possible, so it wasn't a problem. I took a distance approach, using the Tamron 18-250.
Old May 6, 2011, 11:29 PM   #4

A good series for photojournalism. Nicely done, the series does capture the circus that it must have been (and I'm sure you are right that they had wanted to have as much press coverage as possible).
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2011, 1:45 AM   #5

Quote: