Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old May 20, 2011, 10:17 AM   #1

Default Why is my tree blue?

Well, being a first-born perfectionist, I won't sleep until I get an answer to this question... but... why is a tree in the foggy background blue. The original photo was void of much contrast, I am not very good at fog pictures... so I did add contrast... grain... played around with the lighting and all... but I still can't figure out why one tree is blue, and everything else was normal... By the way, a redeeming feature (IMO) is the ripple in the water in the foreground.

Now, it can't be the fault of the K7... no way... any ideas? And, any ideas how to fix it? Thanks.

Eetu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 20, 2011, 10:33 AM   #2

lets see the orig pic please
wave01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2011, 11:40 AM   #3

I will try to upload it when I can, I would need to upload it Zenfolio first. Or, I might try working through the photo again... I looked at the original and the tree is green like the tree next to it. Thanks.
Old May 20, 2011, 5:52 PM   #4

When you start playing with the black point (making things darker) you also increase saturation. The blue tree probably had a certain amount of bluish tone to it because of the shadow and fog, then when you messed with the contrast it messed brought out the blue color. The first picture in a series of mine was converted to b&w because I couldn't deal well with the increase in blue when I increased the contrast of a shot. In the original it was grey with only a hint of blue but making the darks darker really brought out the blue.

I rather like the direction you are going with this picture, it's quite "painterly". It works well with this shot.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2011, 6:40 PM   #5