Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Sep 18, 2011, 8:56 PM   #1

Default Sigma 18-250

Just wondering if anyone here is using the Sigma 18-250 with a K5? Why does it have built in Image Stabilization? How does it do in low light? I've narrowed my search between the Sigma, and the Pentax 18-135mm.
tony3dd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 18, 2011, 9:07 PM   #2

I don't have either lens, but I think Sigma puts in IS because it would cost them too much to remove it (they make it that way for other mounts). Anyway, that's my guess.

What's the size and weight difference between the two lenses? While I was curious about the 18-135 when it first came out, I really prefer primes so haven't paid any attention to either one.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2011, 9:48 PM   #3

I also don't have either lens, so I have no first-hand experience with either one. For whatever it's worth, I've read pretty good reviews of the Sigma, and I've read very good reviews of the Pentax 18-135.

The Sigma has a longer reach, which is a distinct advantage if you want to be carrying as few lenses in your bag as possible. I think i remember reading somewhere that the now discontinued Pentax 18-270 was slightly sharper than the Sigma, but my memory could be faulty on that point. The Pentax 18-270 was a re-badged Tamron, and is commonly available in the used market. (Now that I'm thinking about it, I'm not sure if the Pentax was an 18-250, or 18-270. Does anyone out there have a better memory?)