Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Nov 30, 2011, 2:17 PM   #1

Default K-5 and Metz 58 AF-2 in transit

I have been away for two week. Drove down to PA to visit friends and then on to Nashville to have Thanksgiving with my niece and sister. I painfully had to drive right by Moles area of TN without stopping to say hello but time was not with me this trip. The weather was also horrible on the return trip.

This Monday afternoon around 4:00 PM when I arrived at our hotel I went on line to check Cyber Monday prices on the K-5 and purchased one from B&H for $999.95.

My ($25 used) Sunpak auto 383 super that I have been using for the past 5 years died on me two weeks ago so I also purchased the Metz mecablitz 58 AF-2 to replace it. The salesman at B&H was very helpful and advised me that Metz (for Pentax only) had a special to include a mini soft box and a universal bounce diffuser with the flash. My reason for going with the Metz were the metal flash shoe, USB upgradeable capability, more power at focal lengths greater than 70mm and better zoom capability. The price was also less than the Pentax AF540 FG2

I asked B&H to hold off shipping until today and when I got in at 2:00pm I had an e-mail from B&H saying that it shipped today and I will have it tomorrow. I CAN'T WAIT!!!!!!!

Lou

Last edited by Keltech; Nov 30, 2011 at 2:20 PM.
Keltech is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 30, 2011, 4:29 PM   #2

I just bought a K-5 (same price) and I'm very happy after two days. The High ISO/low available light performance is something else.

Picture quality..... and I like to think I'm very discerning, is great.

I believe you will be very happy with your new K-5.
lesmore49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 9:47 PM   #3