Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Mar 11, 2012, 11:22 AM   #1

Default K-5 question

Im sorry to keep asking questions on the subject. But I keep feeling better equipment yield better results. (once you learn to use the better equipment) I have the K-x and keep looking to the K-5. I shoot a lot of inside pictures. Bar type scenes dark not really well lit and homes or banquet halls. I bought the K-x for low light as I like to shoot without a flash and from a distance as to capture candid shots. I'm sure you know from my other post I'm new to this and have not even mastered the K-x. My question is the K-5 has a better High Iso rating of 1162 vs 811.(seems quite a bit of difference) I understand the Shake reduction is suppose to be better. The Dynamic range is 14.1 vs 12.5 not sure if that is a lot or not. The view finder I find hard to see in daylight with the K-x. Would the better viewfinder and shake reduction and higher ISO range yield better quality shots over the K-x without the use of flash in low light situations? (Hand Held) Is the use of flash inevitable for hand held shots in these conditions.

Thanks for your opinions
Panasonic FZ-100, FZ-150, LX5, LX7, Pentax K-x & K-5, Bower Flash, FA-50 1.7,FA-100 2.8, FA-135 2.8, DA-35 2.4,DA-18-135 3.5,DA Limited 15 4, DA Limited 70 2.4, DAL 18-55, DAL 55-300, Pentax 1.7 Teleconverter, Sigma 70-200 2.8
popellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 11, 2012, 12:10 PM   #2

Short answer - Yes, a little. The ISO difference is actually not that much, that is somewhere around 1/2 stop, the DR will only help in the case of expanding the range of colours (in distinguishing the range in the darkest and lightest areas of a shot). The VF is much improved on the K5 so would help a lot in that area.