Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Mar 25, 2012, 12:13 PM   #1

Default K-x and 18-135

Hi

I'm still a newbie just posting a couple of shots trying to figure what I'm doing wrong for sharpness in my shots. I know the composition is not the greatest.

Both Shot in Program mode.
1st shot 60mm, F7.1 ISO-100 Pattern Metering 0 EV 1/320 sec
2nd shot 135mm F5.6 ISO-100 Pattern Metering, 0 EV 1/250 sec

I can't seem to post images with EXIF data intact.

CC would really be appreciated.

Thanks
Mark
Attached Images

Panasonic FZ-100, FZ-150, LX5, LX7, Pentax K-x & K-5, Bower Flash, FA-50 1.7,FA-100 2.8, FA-135 2.8, DA-35 2.4,DA-18-135 3.5,DA Limited 15 4, DA Limited 70 2.4, DAL 18-55, DAL 55-300, Pentax 1.7 Teleconverter, Sigma 70-200 2.8
popellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 25, 2012, 10:29 PM   #2

Mark, I like both shots a lot. for the first, you made a mistake that I also make almost every time I hand hod a shot: your horizon is not level. Looks to me like the image needs to be very slightly rotated -- maybe about 3 or 4 degrees clockwise. The composition also might be a bit more interesting if you put the subject (the driftwood pile) not in the dead center. Look up the "rule of thirds" for more on this issue, but remember -- there are only guidelines, not absolute rules.

On the second shot the only changes I would make would be to crop out the edge of the car on the left, and remove some of the road in the foreground. I think there's more road than you need.

As I said, I really like both photos.
mtnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2012, 5:51 AM   #3

Hi Mark.

Can't tell exactly from these shots but it's possible your point of focus is behind where you thought it was. To be safe you can always choose the 'Select point of focus and recompose' method :