Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Dec 26, 2013, 6:49 PM   #1

Default Battery Question

I know almost all of you have moved on to Pentax bodies that don't use AA for power. I have been using Eneloops for about 4 or 5 years. A few weeks ago I found the original CRV-3 batteries that came with my Ist DS. Installed them just to see if they would work. So far I have taken at least 600 shots and they still seem fine-matter of fact the camera has never worked better. The eneloops are 1.2v each-for a total of 4.8 volts. The two CRV-3's give a total of 6 volts. The eneloop website states that they provide a constant rate of power. Wondering if anyone has any thoughts on this.
DMJJR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 26, 2013, 7:39 PM   #2

I don't do much shooting with my Ist D anymore, so I leave it with CRV-3s in it and the battery grip, so I don't have to worry about self-discharge, and can just pick it up and use it on occasion. If I were still taking a lot of pictures with it on a daily basis, I would probably go back to rechargeable type.
How old are the Eneloops you are using now? After a few years, regardless of how often or little they have been recharged, they lose capacity and should be replaced.

brian
VTphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2013, 8:14 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by VTphotog View Post
I don't do much shooting with my Ist D anymore, so I leave it with CRV-3s in it and the battery grip, so I don't have to worry about self-discharge, and can just pick it up and use it on occasion. If I were still taking a lot of pictures with it on a daily basis, I would probably go back to rechargeable type.
How old are the Eneloops you are using now? After a few years, regardless of how often or little they have been recharged, they lose capacity and should be replaced.

brian